Joe Jacoby Among Semifinalists For 2023 Hall of Fame Class

July 9, 2022

Joe Jacoby Among Semifinalists

This week the NFL announced their semifinalist list for seniors and Coach/Contributor categories for the 2023 Pro Football Hall of Fame class.

The full list was comprised of 54 names; the 12-person Senior committee named 25 players while the Coach/Contributor committee named the other 29. The process will now move into the next phase which will consist of a series of votes between the two separate committees.

The committees are tasked with agreeing on 12 finalists from their perspective category. The results from the voting process will be announced on July 27.

Joe Jacoby

In a move that has almost become routine, Washington Redskins all-time great Joe Jacoby finds himself on the list of 25. Routine meaning Joe Jacoby has found himself here several times during this process.

Jacoby was named a finalist three times during his 20 years of Hall eligibility before disrespectfully being put ‘out to pastor’ in the group that is regulated by the Senior Committee. This will be his first time going through the process since becoming a senior candidate.

It’ll be yet another chance for one of these Hall of Fame voting groups to correct the situation and let Jacoby take his rightful place in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

In 13 seasons for Washington from 1981-1993, Jacoby made four Pro Bowls and won two Super Bowls. He was also named first-team All-Pro three times (1983, 1984, 1987), was named to the Redskins Ring of Fame and 75 Greatest Greatest Redskins groups, and was part of the NFL’s 1980s All-Decade Team.

It’s a travesty that Jacoby isn’t already in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. His play was most certainly deserving of it. When we spoke back in 2018 after being named a finalist, he was happy, but cautious after going through the process before.

“I’m not all that worried about getting in right now, I know I’ll eventually get in down the road,” Jacoby said that day. While it’s not likely possible that man could tell a lie, you can rest assured that him getting in would be a crowning achievement for his entire family.

Below is the list of 25 former National Football League players who were named semifinalists.

  • Ken Anderson
  • Maxie Baughan
  • Mark Clayton
  • Roger Craig
  • LaVern Dilweg
  • Randy Gradishar
  • Lester Hayes
  • Chris Hinton
  • Chuck Howley
  • Cecil Isbell
  • Joe Jacoby
  • Billie “White Shoes” Johnson
  • Mike Kenn
  • Joe Klecko
  • Bob Kuechenberg
  • George Kunz
  • Jim Marshall
  • Clay Matthews Jr.
  • Eddie Meador
  • Stanley Morgan
  • Tommy Nobis
  • Ken Riley
  • Sterling Sharpe
  • Otis Taylor
  • Everson Walls

Follow Philip Hughes on Twitter (@RatedRedskins). Be sure to bookmark Commanders Capitol and check back for news, analysis, and more.